Painting a Floor Cloth

May 25, 2010 at 1:23 pm | Posted in decorating | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’ve been wanting to make a floor cloth forever.  Well, this house tour thing got me going.  That and the fact that my hardwood floor needs to be refinished and I’m just not into moving everything right now.  I’m lucky that I received the vinyl remnant as a work perk.  I asked for the ugliest one with a paper backing and received a nice large piece.  I cut it to a five foot square approximately.

( As you can see in this picture I have already primed, painted and starting drawing my design on it.)

I then primed it with Fresh Start ( a high adhesion latex primer from BM).  Next I used some white flat latex (cause that’s what I had on hand  and I knew I would be coating the whole thing in latex urethane so it didn’t matter what finish I used at this point).

I  made my shapes using my mouse pad as a guide.

I made this stencil from bristle board and drew around it with a pencil on to the floorcloth.  I measured to keep things fairly even.

I then used black latex paint that I already had to paint my design.

Everyone got involved.

The cat hair adds texture.

Next I painted red in some of the centres.  I chose every other square in every other line.  I then put about four coats of Stays Clear (BM latex urethane in Low Lustre) on it..

I’m very happy with how it turned out.  I’ve been weighing down the edges with heavy books and it’s made a big difference to the waviness.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i love it!

    • I just found this comment in my spam file??!! Crazy. Thanks for your comment. Love your blog. I just subscribed.

  2. Well done, You!

    This is quite lovely and it has made me ponder my own unfinished, woefully uneven, trauma-inducing hardwood floors and whether or not this might work for us…

    Vewy eentewesting…

    • Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. Don’t mean to sound like a stalker but,…I think if we lived in the same town we would be fast friends. I too listen to the cbc radio, work as an interior decorator (from time to time), love gardening, sewing, old houses,yoga and puppy dogs. Crazy eh?

  3. Wow – that turned out awesome!! I love it!

    • thanks, it was fun working with paint instead of fabric for a change


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

