My Bliss

April 19, 2010 at 8:41 pm | Posted in decorating, sewing | 6 Comments
Tags:

After years of waiting for this room to be built I’m finely getting very close to finishing my sewing room.  I’ve mentioned before that I have agreed to be part of the local house tour this June.  I knew this would motivate me to put the finishing touches on my house and complete some projects that need doing.

Today, I made two pillows for the pull out sofa in this room and I love the way they turned out.   I used some bark cloth from a set of old curtains I picked up at a junk store and part of a chenille bedspread which I dyed hot pink quite some time ago.  I used some Belle fabric from Amy Butler and some Lotus on the back of the floral square pillow.

I made the curtains last week and sewing on that jumbo rickrack just about did me in.  I know there is probably easier ways to do it but, that’s not my way.  I machine sewed down both edges, zigzagging back and forth along the way.  Crazy, I know.

I made the bird cutout from some  vintage wallpaper left over from my husband’s parent’s cottage.  I have a case of assorted patterns.

I also  repainted this bookcase which my friends so kindly donated to me.  I used stem green from Benjamin Moore and I used the new Aura paint in Satin.  Covered well and looks great…To me.

I’m really happy with how things are turning out and can’t wait to get some serious sewing done here.

The other side of the room is nearly done and I’ll take pictures when I’m happy with it.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the bird is a really nice touch.

  2. Saw your posting while looking for info on the Hagalund sofa. So glad I did. I love everything about this room. AT is inspiring but sometimes the rooms are lifeless. But your’s is so full of life. Just delightful. Especially the wall lamps above your sofa. Genius. I’m totally gonna steal that. Thanks for posting.

  3. Amazing find! Thanks for even more information and inspiration.

  4. Where’d you get the 2 walls lamps above sofabed? Hard to find here!!!

    • Hi Kate, Probably in a junk/antique store. That’s how I’ve furnished most of my house. Hawaii sounds like such a beautiful place, but I don’t think I could live without my secondhand stores. You must have yard sales there. Keep your eyes peeled. good luck


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

