The Easiest Sundress Ever

March 26, 2010 at 11:38 am | Posted in sewing | 2 Comments

I was in Toronto last week visiting  Canada Blooms and couldn’t resist dropping in at a couple of fabric stores while there.   My local Fabricland is closing and is almost completely empty at this point.  So, while shopping for some black and white fabric for a friends duvet cover I came across this

Please ignore the mess in the background.  I’m trying to make a few things for the farmers market when I was distracted by this bit of loveliness.  It was $17 a metre, but I had to buy it. The top of this fabric is smocked . Normally I wait for sales but I was afraid the prints that my daughter would like would be gone by then.  So, for just around .8 of a metre or $13.60  she has another new sundress.   The fabric was printed with some horizontal stripes along the bottom edge.  These can be cut off and made into straps if you’d like.  I cut them off to achieve the desired length and she decided not to put straps on this dress just yet anyways.

 

I couldn’t decide which picture is least dreadful, so I’ve included both.

Now, back to business and cleaning up the horrendous sewing room.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is some great fabric – looks like a couple of my favorite colors in there, red and turquoise. I’ve seen this type of fabric at Jo-Anns, with the smocking at the top, but it’s always “little-girl” looking. I’d love to make a dress like this for summer – as soon as I come across a good print! Very cute dress 🙂

  2. I don’t leave a great deal of comments, however
    i did a few searching and wound up here The Easiest Sundress Ever |
    Sewbeeit. And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.

    Is it simply me or does it look as if like a
    few of these remarks appear as if they are
    written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online sites, I’d like to keep
    up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of your social
    pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

