Pattern Challenge: McCalls 5919

February 27, 2010 at 11:12 am | Posted in sewing | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

I’m so glad to get one more project accomplished on my to do list.  A friend of ours is having their second child anytime now and I wanted to make something special for child number one.  The older sibling sometimes gets a little forgotten at these times so I wanted to be able to present her with a gift when we brought something for the baby.  It’s a special time in her life too afterall.

I use to sew clothes all the time.  Blazers, dresses, even my own wedding dress.  Yes, one day I will purchase a scanner and be able to post it all.  Over the last few years of renovating I have turned my attention to home projects.  I sew drapery, blinds, slip covers, duvet covers, and lots of pillows for myself and clients.  I have a stash of oh I don’t know…100 patterns.  Maybe more, and I ‘ve given away about the same quantity.   I use to work at a fabric store and when there was discontinued patterns they let us take them.  It wasn’t unusual to drag home one or two huge bags packed with patterns.  Hoarders?  Ya, maybe a little.  I have given many away as styles and ambitions changed.

It has been good lately to get back to garment sewing if only on smaller simpler projects like the sundress from OYW and this  little tunic above.  I think joining the Pattern Challenge really helped me to get motivated.  I especially like sewing for kids.

As for a review of this pattern, I’ve done so on Pattern Review here.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very cute, I love the way it turned out!

  2. The fabric is adorable-I’m sure she will love it!
    Jana


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

