A Sundress Rant

February 14, 2010 at 6:17 pm | Posted in sewing | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

I should rejoice in the fact that she will still wear something I make.  This is a cute little dress that looks good with jeans, shorts or as a short dress for summer.

We found the pattern in One Yard Wonders.  It is called the Simply Beautiful Sundress.   We searched for a few minutes for the skirt pattern piece and then realized it is cut from directions.  Not a problem.  There are only two other pattern pieces for this dress, a bodice front and back.  Very simple, but we had a few problems.  I learned how to sew from the major pattern companies and I am use to their methods.  I like the marked pattern pieces that tell you where side seams are, give you notches to match up and etc.  This has none of that.  What was confusing was the diagrams that don’t follow what I feel the written directions are saying.  The diagram shows the back and front bodice pieces being attached to the skirt at the front.  It looks as if the back is backless?  I used what little common sense I have and assumed the seam where the front and back bodice are attached together would be the side seam and that these should match with the side seams of the skirt.  An elastic is attached and it is a little strange too.  The directions tell you to mark it in quarters and attach to the dress.  I assume this means front, side seam, back and side seam.  The elastic is pulled more on the back and less on the front.  I guess this is to allow for booty.  A little more fullness at the back?  Makes sense but this should be shown or explained.  Lastly,  it directs  you to topstitch to hold this seam allowance down towards the skirt.  Topstitch on a gathered seam?  This would look messy .  I can’t see topstitching on the one in the picture.  It’s  patterns like this that make me appreciate the back views and line drawings that the big pattern companies have.

We got lucky and happened to have a great match for the bias tape.  The fabric is Amy Butler Midwest Modern Ohio Sky.  It was really nice to use and I love the look for summer.

I’m the type of person who likes to follow the directions.  I’ve heard others say they use patterns as suggestion only and as a general guide.  I like to make changes, but I expect the pattern I’ve paid for to actually make sense too.

Here are some pictures of the back, front and inside sans daughter.

Thanks for the rant.  Next project ..

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I was wondering about that project! I’ve had some fabric that I thought would be cute for that dress but wasn’t sure how complicated it was. Looks cute on your daughter, she’s so pretty! Maybe I’ll give it a shot but it sort of sounds like a pain!

    • I’ll take a shot of the back for you tomorrow. It might help out. I’m not sure I did it as instructed but it fits her and she likes it. I made a large, but a medium probably would have been fine. I hadn’t preshrunk the fabric (she was too anxious to wait) so I figure if it shrinks a little it will be okay. She’s growing like a weed and I didn’t want it to be too small by summer. I’m sure it would look great on you.

  2. I have an online store that sells sundresses, I just wanted to drop by and let you know I think you did a great job.
    JB

  3. […] has been good lately to get back to garment sewing if only on smaller simpler projects like the sundress from OYW and this  little tunic above.  I think joining the Pattern Challenge really helped me […]

  4. loved it! was hoping if you would tell me where you found the skirt front/back? I have the book and it says page 2 but I cannot seem to find anything, looked in other pages as well. Thanks in advance 🙂

    • Hi Sandra, I mentioned that I looked for the skirt front and back pattern pieces too, but then discovered you cut them from the directions. ie Small is 19 x 22 Medium 21 x 22 Large 22 x 22. Some book patterns do this when the pattern pieces are simple rectangles. I suppose it saves on the paper need to print another pattern piece. Hope this helps and good luck.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

