Yet another project

February 2, 2010 at 2:23 pm | Posted in decorating | 1 Comment
Tags:

I bought these old tin ceiling tiles several years ago.  They have been hanging around the basement and sometimes the barn for many years.  I finally had the time and man power to use them for a new head board.

I designed a fairly simple project here.  I wanted it done quickly and as cheap as possible.  We have had the pleasure of having a handy man for the past few months.  He is able to help my husband with the farming, horse barn building and me around the house.  He hangs things, pictures, quilts, lighting, shelves and whatever I need him too.  I have been taking advantage of his skills and thought he could handle a small furniture build. 

I was busy so he primed and painted the tiles silver. This is something  I don’t often allow others to do.  I am admittedly a paint nazi.   After priming the first time we saw that they needed a little extra steel wooling.  (yes, I created a new term)

Anyways, he did a fine job and then he attached them to a 1/2 inch piece of plywood.  He left 5 1/2  inches top and bottom and 3 1/2 inches on the sides.  He attached  1/2 thick pine boards across the top and bottom and then the sides.  From there he attached a board across the top which projects 1/2 inch out.  Under that he put a small piece of trim to finish it. 

I am priming it and painting it black.  My daughter says I’m going emo.  Always a critic.

 

I’m hoping to be done this week.  My handy guy is only here til Friday so I better be done so he can hang it.  Very exciting… for me anyways. Sad eh?

On a sewing note, I’ll be making boxer shorts for the husband while paint dries.  Don’t think I’ll have any volunteers to model them though.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very nice! I like it. Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

