Paint it red….soon

January 25, 2010 at 10:27 pm | Posted in decorating | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I waited for the store I work at to get this new Frog Tape that I saw demonstrated and when we finally received it  I realized it was specifically designed for use with latex paint. oh well.  I have already decided I wanted to go for the oil-based so I gave it a try anyways.  It is a little stronger than some painters tape and it actually took some paint off.  Right down to the wood!  I used regular painters tape on one side and the Froggy stuff on the other.   They both did a good job but oil paint wasn’t what the frog stuff was made for.  Anyhoo.  

many uses for a quilters ruler

I’ll be getting a piece of wood cut to fit over where the wires are runner.   Just ignore it like I am for now. 

I decided on a 24 inch runner and my quilters ruler worked perfectly. 

 

 

Things aren’t exactly square around here so I had to fudge  the lines so they looked fairly straight even if they weren’t. 

  

 

I like the painted landing so much I’d really like to keep going and paint the whole upstairs.  Ummm 

I don’t have any pictures of the red quite yet.  I’m doing touch ups tomorrow and then I’ll take a few lovely pictures. I hope.  I have used a product called Safe Tread to add to the final coat.  It is a sand product that will make the stairs less slippery.  After the first coat without the Safe Tread I realized that someone would eventually end up prematurely at the bottom of the stairs.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hello,

    I found your blog while searching for roman blinds information.

    I love what you want to do with your stairwell. Have you seen the first episode of “Sarah’s House” this season? The reason I ask is that she uses a gorgeous color of red on closet doors in the newly built entry way of the farm house she is renovating. Here is a link to a picture where you can see the door: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/real-estate/sarah-buys-the-farm/article1497508/

    Anyway, good luck with your project! And thanks so much for the instructions on how to make roman blinds. Love your fabric choice for your bathroom blind!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

