Red Hot

January 26, 2010 at 12:40 pm | Posted in decorating | 5 Comments

I love love my new stairs. 

This isn’t the greatest picture.  It has been raining and and it really overcast today.  They are shiny but that will reduce a little with time.  

This is what I see when I look over my shoulder from the computer.  Lovely view.  It’s really not such an orangy red in person.

I can’t wait to hang the red and white quilt but, alas I must.  I need to get a piece of wood cut for mounting.  Where is everybody? 

UPDATE:  Quilt has been hung.

Have I mentioned I believe there is a conspiracy in my family to keep me from actually finishing all decorating projects… well I have evidence.

here kitty kitty..mommy needs to talk to you

Yeah, when I touched up the white, he walked through that too.  Give me strength.  

Cindy  from Random-Charm said something  in her comment on SMS, about painting that really made me think.  She mentioned she grew up in a military family and they didn’t live in houses that they owned so her family never really painted their homes for themselves.  I on the other hand spent 18 years in one house, then 6, and now 18 years in this house.  Wow I’ve never looked at it like that before.   My mother loved to decorate.   She was and still is always painting, wallpapering,refinishing, sewing and crafting.  Her brother owned a paint store and she worked there from time to time.  And can you guess where my part time job is?… wait for it… a paint store!  Decorating  has really been a big part of my life.  When we where kids my parents use to buy houses fix them up and sell them.  I can’t tell you how many rooms I’ve painted.  I still paint for family and friends but usually only if they let me pick the colours.  Really.  I sometimes am amazed by people who buy furniture and decorate like once in 30 years.  wow eh?  Not for me.  Just think of all the money I’d have if I didn’t decorate constantly.  I really do it to help the economy though.  You can thank me later.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. this looks awesome. sound & harmonious design.

  2. I love this project! It is so charming and sleek! Really cool…..

    • Thanks for the comment Todd. I love the photos on your blog. I’ve updated this post with a new picture. The quilt has been hung. I’m happy for a moment and then on to the other things that need doing.

  3. I LOVE the red! So fun and different. The kitty paw is awesome. They have to be involved in EVERYTHING, don’t they?

  4. I really love your stairs! The shiny paint and the red down the middle as a faux runner is gorgeous. And KEEP the kitty paw print; that is priceless. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

